More about Matthew Guy

Matthew GuyI live in Nova Scotia, Canada, and have worked most of my professional career in Student Affairs for universities on both sides of the Atlantic.

I grew up near Bury St. Edmunds in England until I moved to Leeds to become a student.

I graduated from Leeds Metropolitan University (now Leeds Beckett University) with a Bachelor of Arts with honours and became a member (and later a Fellow) of the Chartered Institute of Housing.

In 2006 after a lot of thought we moved to Nova Scotia in Canada.

Having worked in student housing in England, I worked for nine years for one of Canada’s top undergraduate universities.

In September 2016 I became Director of Student Success on a small campus of a larger Canadian university.

In 2019 I worked with my friend and local MLA, Lenore Zann to secure the Liberal nomination in the Federal Riding of Cumberland-Colchester and served as the campaign co-chair. In the 2019 Federal Election I chaired the election campaign. Following a successful election campaign, in December 2019 I become Chief of Staff for Lenore Zann MP.

I have served as both Secretary and President of the  Atlantic Association of College and University Student Services (AACUSS). In May 2019 I was awarded the AACUSS Award of Merit, in recognition of “significant achievement and distinguished contribution to the development and promotion of Student Services in the Atlantic Region and active participation within the Association itself”

I represented both West Nova and Cumberland-Colchester areas on the NSNDP Provincial Executive. I have been President of both the Annapolis and Truro-Bible-Hill-Millbrook-Salmon River NDP Electoral District Associations.

In 2013 I acted as Official Agent for the NSNDP in Annapolis during the Provincial Election.

I have previously been a Vice President in my Students’ Union, a volunteer Director of a non-profit housing organisation, set up a community website, been an Annapolis River Guardian  as well as being part of many social and political campaigns.

I live with my husband, our two sons, two cats, two dogs, and previously been home to varying numbers of chickens and a lame duck (he had only one foot).

Thank you for stopping by and please feel free to send me a message or a tweet.

Matthew Guy -  Nova Scotia, Canada